Sahaja Yoga Meditation

What is Sahaja Yoga?

In every human being, irrespective of the age, race, religion, ethnicity, language, etc. one believes to belong to, there lies a dormant energy, called in ancient India by name “Kundalini”. The simplest way to recognise or understand “Kundalini” is to know Her as our Own individual  Mother who is waiting to be awakened to give us the experience of “Self-realisation” thereby letting us avail a complete meaning to our human lives.

Though there are many Ancient scriptures & references to this Divine energy but all of them are shrouded in mystery about the actualisation/ experience of this energy. The breakthrough happened on May 5th, 1970 when Her Holiness Shri Mataji Nirmala Devi discovered a method by which this divine energy can be awakened and can be experienced en-masse by ordinary human beings like us.

As the name ‘Sahaja Yoga’ indicates -this form of “Yoga” is spontaneous and is born within us. Also, from our experience, we have realized this is not a mental activity – rather, it takes our attention beyond mind, a state best described as “Thoughtless Awareness”. Steady practice of Sahaja Yoga meditation implants the foundation of “Yoga” within an individual. “Yoga” – as defined in Sanskrit – means a connection or union between one own self to the all-pervading power of Divine love. Sahaja Yoga is not just a concept or book of theories, rather, an actualization which helps one to experience the truth about us, and the life that completes us.

Sahaja Yoga as it is now is practised in over 120 countries and every day there are few whose lives are being quietly transformed.

The Subtle System within us

“You cannot know the meaning of your life until you are connected to the power that created you.”

“Sahaja Yoga is the spontaneous union of individual consciousness with the all-pervading divine power through the awakening of the residual power of the Kundalini which lies dormant within all human beings in the triangular bone at the base of the spine, called the sacrum- the sacred bone.”

-H.H. Shri Mataji Nirmala Devi

Within the human body, there exists an extremely subtle system which looks after our Physical, Intellectual, Emotional and Physical being. It consists of –  

  • Kundalini, a living energy
  • 3 Energy channels (Nadis)
  • 7 Major Energy Centres, resembling flower petals.

After Self-Realization, When Kundalini rises from the base of the spine, it integrates the seven main chakras, and the subtle experience manifests itself in a flow of cool vibrations, which can be felt on the hands and also over the crown of the head like a cool breeze.

It is through these vibrations that we gain a new awareness beyond thought, beyond emotions.

What is Inner Energy (Kundalini)?

Your Inner Energy, or Kundalini, (again from Sanskrit,) is the power of pure desire, a soothing spiritual energy that lies dormant at the base of the spine above the first Energy Center. When awakened, it rises through the central channel, piercing the six Energy Centres and is released through the fontanelle – often feeling like a cool breeze, is what is known as Self Realization. Experiencing Self Realization is what it is to “feel the energy within.” Tapping into and raising your Inner Energy is the key to improving your life in every possible way across every level.

What are Channels?

The subtle system consists of 3 Energy Channels:

The Left Channel (Ida Nadi)

The left channel (Blue) corresponds to our past, emotions, desires, affectivity. Its termination is the superego, which is the storehouse of all our memories, habits and conditionings.

The Right Channel (Pingala Nadi)

The right channel (Yellow) corresponds to our actions and planning, our physical and mental activity. Its termination is ego, which gives us the idea of I-ness, the sense that we are separate from the world.

The Central Channel (Sushumna Nadi)

The central channel is the channel of ascent, it is the power which sustains our evolution and guides us consciously or unconsciously, towards the higher awareness of Sahasrara.

What are Energy Centres? 

There are seven Energy Centres (also known by their traditional Sanskrit names, chakras) in the human body. Energy Centres are fulcrums that control most aspects of our physical, mental and spiritual lives.

Often difficulties in life can be traced to imbalances or blockages in one or more of the Energy Centres. The Energy Centres are connected by channels which are sometimes referred to by the Sanskrit name, Nadi.

Benefits of Sahaja Yoga

When Kundalini energy rises, She clears and nourishes the chakras;

  • Results in physical wellbeing and mental clarity, improves concentration and memory 
  • Relaxes body and mind
  • Relieves tensions, removes fear
  • Anger, suspicion, jealousy, resentment, inferiority, domination, possessiveness, ego disappear, results in harmony